October 10, 2009
The History of FIFA World Cup Since 1930

the-history-of-fifa-world-cup-since-1930The World Cup (The Golden Nike) was founded in 1930 by Frenchman Jules Rimet, the creator of the world championship games. The cup was designed and made by a French sculptor, Abel Lafleur. 30 cm in height, weighing 1,82 kg and made of pure gold, the sculpture depicted Nike of Samothrace (Winged Victory). In 1950 the statuette was named the Jules Rimet Cup after its founder. It was a trophy passed on to each winner and the team to win the tournament three times got to keep it (Brazil achieved this in 1970). In 1983 the Cup was stolen and it has never been found. The tournament using Jules Rimet Cup was organized for a total of 9 times from 1930 to 1970. The tournament is being organized once in every four years.

The FIFA World Cup was founded in 1971. It was designed by Silvio Gazzanigi of Italy. Made of 18-carat gold and malachite, the cup is 36 cm tall and weighs 5 kg. The sculpture depicts two triumphant football players holding a globe in their raised hands. The trophy is passed on to each winning team that gets to keep an identical (but gold-plated) replica. The making of the statue cost about $50,000, today its value is estimated to over $10,000,000. The World Cup trophy that being used today has been staged for 8 times from 1974 until now.

1st. World Cup (Uruguay, 1930) :

At the 1929 FIFA congress, Uruguay was chosen to arrange the first ever World Cup to honor its achievements in sports. Uruguay, the reigning Olympic Champions, was chosen ahead of a quartet of European countries including Italy and Spain. Even though Uruguay offers to pay all team expenses, only four European countries makes the three week trip to South America. The hosts builds a fantastic stadium in Montevideo that can hold 95,000. The Stadium is finished five days after the World Cup has started! The World Cup Champions were to receive what today is known as “The Jules Rimet trophy”.

2nd. World Cup (Italy, 1934) :

Italy was the hosts for the 1934 World-Cup. Uruguay, who won the previous tournament in 1930, surprisingly did not participate. So immediately one of the main attractions was missing. This was the first and last time the previous winners did not show up for the next championships. There was 16 teams took part in the tournament. Argentina and Brazil took part, but booth with average teams. Therefore the Europeans and especially were favorites for the title. With the fascist dictator Mussolini behind his team, everything was set up for Italy. Players such as Orsi, Monti, and De Maria from Argentina were drafted into the Italian squad after it was found they had double nationalities. The championships was no victory for football, but Mussolini and the Italians were pleased with the outcome.

3rd. World Cup (France, 1938) :

The World-Cup grew more and more, and in the third championships, there were 36 nations involved. Norway reached the finals for the first time. The last championships were won by the hosts, but that was to change. Again were Italy the winners. This tournament the football was played in a more mature and collective way, with more speed and technical play. Three players stood out above others, Meazza, Ferrari and Fiola. The draw for the first round was done in Paris on March 5. 1938.

4th. World Cup (Brazil, 1950) :

European teams from countries most affected by World War II (among others the Polish team) didn’t enter the qualifiers. The silver medalists of the last championships, Hungary, Czechoslovakia and Argentina didn’t participate either. Most countries in the world used the years 1945-50 to rebuild their countries. As Usual, Brazil was the biggest favorite of the tournament. Uruguay could not be written off, they had won three championships in a row (OL-24, OL-28, VC-30), and had since not participated in following tournaments. The final between Brazil and Uruguay was played in front of amazing 203 000 people. Brazil had impressed everyone in the early stages and took the lead 1-0. Uruguay could hardly get out of their own half, but still managed to score 2 goals. One of the biggest upsets in football history.

5th. World Cup (Switzerland, 1954) :

Wankdorf stadium in Bern, 4. July 1954: Hungarys magical “Magyars”, who were undefeated in 31 games over 4 years, met West-Germany in the final of the 5th World-Cup. Just two weeks ago, Hungary had defeated West-Germany by 8-3 in a group game. Unluckily, this time they lost 3-2 to the confusion of all football lovers. This legendary team who many regard as one of the best ever never would become world champions. After the World-Cup they continued to win and win until thousands of Russian tanks rolled into Budapest in November 1956. The end of an era.

6th. World Cup (Sweden, 1958) :

Garrincha, Didi, Gilmar, Zito and Pele were just some of Brazils stars in 1958, who rewrote the history books. Hundreds of Swedish flooded to the Brazilian training ground to catch a glimpse of their ball control and tecnique. This championship would be the breakthrough for a 17 year old boy from Sao-Paulo, Pele. This young man amazed the world with his skills and goals. In the final against the hosts, Brazil won 5-2 with Pele scoring 2 of the goals. The semi final and final together he scored 5 goals! Arguably footballs biggest star was born.

7th. World Cup (Chile, 1962) :

It was expected that Peles Brazil would defend their title. They did, but to the most without Pele. After scoring in the opening match, he was injured and did not play the rest of the tournament. Brazil met Czechoslovakia in the final and won easily. Even without Pele, Brazil was too strong for the rest of the football world. Teams such as England and West-Germany were in the process of building new teams. Whereas Argentina, Italy and Uruguay were mostly keen on fighting than playing football.

8th. World Cup (England, 1966) :

England will win the World-Cup on home soil, said the English manager Alf Ramsey. The games founders had been in 4 previous tournaments, but with disappointment. In 66 they started slowly with a draw against Uruguay, but slowly found form as the tournament went on. At last in this tournament, they stood as winners, and Ramsey a national hero. The victory was not only popular and deserved, but also controversial. The scoring that decided the final is still discussed to this day!!!

9th. World Cup (Mexico, 1970) :

Many believe that the 1970 World-Cup was the best ever played, and inspired millions of kids to start playing. It was a championship where different styles came against each other. As proved in the final where the passing and skillful Brazilians met the tactical and physical Italians. Football won that day as Brazil won 4-1 playing some of the best football ever seen. Again Pele was inspirational along with Jairzinho, Gerson, Felix and Carlos Alberto. They showed the world how football should be played. 1970 proved to be the farewell to who many regard as the greatest, Pele. - www.all-soccer-info.com

Piled on: History,
football posited at 9:47 am | so far

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment

Line and paragraph breaks automatic, e-mail address never displayed, HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>


pageTracker._initData(); pageTracker._trackPageview(); } catch(err) {}